Several member schools came away with high honors at the Eastern Kentucky Conference’s annual football awards luncheon Monday at Carter Caves State Resort Park.

Fairview and Lewis County received the top team awards as co-champions, while the runner-up trophy went to Raceland.

League coaches selected Lewis County’s Josh Hughes as Coach of the Year.

Along with sharing the EKC title, the Lions won their first district championship since 1985 and posted their first winning record (8-3) since 1988.

Lewis County also beat Russell for the first time.

“I’m really proud of the kids,” Hughes said. “They made it all possible. I thought we had a chance this season not only to be more competitive, but win more than in the past.”

He credited Lewis County’s seniors for taking on leadership roles earlier in their careers.

“They were there in the weight room, and set a good example,” Hughes said. “They were leaders from the time they were young.”

One of them, lineman Cody Lawhun, got the EKC Defensive Player of the Year award.

Nicholas County’s Caleb Pope was honored as Player of the Year. He rushed for 2,320 yards and 28 touchdowns this season.

Running back Chris Littlejohn of unbeaten Fairview received the EKC’s Offensive Player of the Year award. Littlejohn is the top scorer for the district champs with 25 touchdowns. Littlejohn has 1,047 yards rushing and 18 TDs, to go with 396 yards and seven scores on pass receptions.

Fairview plays for a regional championship at home Friday night against Pikeville. The Eagles’ Kyle McKnight was selected EKC Assistant Coach of the Year.

Lewis County’s Hayden Swartz picked up Lineman of the Year honors, while Raceland quarterback Adam Elkins received the West Hopkins Courage Award.

All-Eastern Kentucky Conference

First Team

Fairview: Chris Littlejohn, Chris Brewer, Devon Turner, Ty Lowe, Ryan Webb, Mike Felty, Tanner Rymer, Anthony Roark. Lewis County: Cody Lawhun, Johnny Everman, Jarrett Parker, Dalton Carver, Michael Mustard, Nathaniel Lightner, Kristian Conway. Raceland: Marcus Reed, Tyler Nethercutt, Brian Caudill, Mac Boggs. Bath County: Hayden Swartz, Dustin Robinson, Garrett Vinegar, Clark Kissick, Jordan Abrams. Nicholas County: Caleb Pope, Austin Allison, Joe Lee Allison, Zach Howard, Dalton Pope. Fleming County: Chaise Gulley, Desmond McAdams, Heath Burnett, Austin Hunt. West Carter: MacKenzie McGlone, Caleb Whitt. East Carter: Blake Mayo. Paintsville: Tyler Spriggs, Matt Daniels.

Second Team

Fairview: Reed McNurlin, Cody Campbell, C. J. Leadingham, Justin Elliott, J. P. Payne, Caleb McKnight, Cody Thompson. Lewis County: Jared Carver, Caleb Bolander, Nick Ruark, Cody Christy, Devon Richmond, Bud Burriss. Raceland: Phillip Thompson, Devon Thompson, Daylin Beach, Adam Elkins. Bath County: Curan Shrout, Zach Romans, Timmy Robinson, Dilan Hardin. Fleming County: Josh McIntyre, Andrew Hilterbrand, Travis Taylor, Austin Fryman. Nicholas County: Ethan Smith, Jake Kirby, J. D. Wagoner, Nolan Woosley. West Carter: Cody Stamper, Mike Jordan. East Carter: Quinn Huddle. Paintsville: Dakota Ray, Mark Fannin.   

Trending Video

Recommended for you