CATLETTSBURG — In the heat of state elections, Boyd County voters also selected three new members to the boards of education in Ashland and Fairview school districts.

David F. Latherow was elected to the board of education in the Ashland Independent School District. He did not have opposition in the race.

Brad L. Profitt and Sharon McCoy Stevens won their respective races to become members on the Fairview Independent School District board of education.

Profitt won 63 percent of the vote against his opponents, Marty D. Copas and Jeff McFarlin. Profitt had 445 votes compared to McFarlin’s 168 votes and Copas’ 92 votes.

Stevens won her board race contested by three other opponents: Tom Leadingham, Kevin J. King and Rebecca Romine. Stevens received 304 votes, which was 43 percent of the overall vote. Romine came in second with 165 votes with King winning 137 votes and Leadingham finishing last with 95 votes.

Trending Video

Recommended for you