Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)


May 15, 2014

KSP trooper from Ashland post receives top honor

FRANKFORT — A Kentucky State Police trooper assigned to the Ashland post has been selected as the agency’s Trooper of the Year for 2013.

Trooper First Class Shane Goodall, a resident of Flatwoods, received the honor at the KSP’s annual awards ceremony at the Frankfort Convention Center.

During the past year, Goodall issued 573 citations and made 18 arrests for driving under the influence while answering 490 complaint, the KSP said.

 In addition to being a field training officer and his post’s taser instructor, he has worked tirelessly on drug interdictions and undercover operations. During a three-month period, he seized 1,764 prescription pills and $21,875 in cash while confiscating two vehicles, 581.7 grams of heroin and one once ounce of marijuana.

His numerous arrests have prevented large quantities of prescription pills, heroin and marijuana from reaching the streets, the KSP said. During two “knock and talk” operations, he seized a gram of methamphetamine and 58 marijuana plants.

Goodall’s efforts also affected property crimes such as burglaries and thefts, which are closely tied to drug activity. He investigated 26 criminal cases, recruited two informants and arrested four fugitives from other states.

School safety is also a priority for Goodall, who regularly patrols and visits local schools and participates in school lockdown drills. He also made 69 additional school visits on his own during his shifts.

Goodall is a 1995 graduate of Nitro (W.Va.) High School.

Other awards announced were detective of the year, Detective Ricky M. Brooks, a 10-year veteran assigned to the Columbia post; Jason Cammack officer of the year award to four-year veteran Officer Harold E. Mosley of the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Division Henderson region; and facilities security officer of the year award to Officer Craig Shouse, a 10-year veteran of the agency.

Two troopers from the Morehead post, Keith R. Howard and Ben McCray (retired), received the Citation for Meritorious Service with "V" Device for Valor, bestowed upon officers of the agency who distinguish themselves by an act of courage performed under more than ordinary circumstances.

Detective Christopher T. Carter was named the Ashland post’s detective of the year.

Trooper Jonathan D. Moore was named the Morehead post’s trooper of the year and Detective Toby K. Gardner its detective of the year.

Officer Richard P. Bolduc was chosen commercial vehicle enforcement officer of the year for Region 5, Morehead.


Text Only
Local News
Local Sports
College Basketball
CNHI News Service Originals