Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

February 12, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Votes can change our government

We live in a constitutional republic that operates democratically.  Our elections are democratic. That means the majority (or plurality in the case of multiple candidates) rules. We elect representatives to serve us by a majority vote in free elections.  

We don’t need to stage a coup, or have a revolution to change government. All we need to do is vote. If you want to change your representative and can persuade a majority of citizens to agree with you, you can vote them out. In the U.S, all elected officials serve a set term after which an election is held.

If you cannot persuade a majority to go along with you, then the majority is with someone else and you will have to wait. Whether you are in the majority or minority, you retain all the built-in rights the constitution and bill of rights contain. 

Some folks say that they need assault weapons to keep the government in line and to overthrow it if they think it has become too oppressive, etc. A good question then is, when they overthrow our system, what kind of a system do they want to replace it with? A monarchy, Communism, religious dictatorship?  Maybe they just want to “fix” the system we have. But why overthrow the system we have only to replace it with the exact same thing.  Just vote the scoundrels out. This is the system the founders gave us to use, protect, and preserve.

If someone has problems going along with the rule of the majority, then maybe this system isn’t for him.  We know that big money has corrupted the governing and election processes to various degrees from year to year. But I don’t believe, they are beyond peaceful remedy. As long as the constitution is respected, they will never be.

Charles M. Whitt, South Shore

Text Only
Opinion
  • Good opportunity

    Morehead State University is using a highly successful program for outstanding high school juniors and seniors at Western Kentucky University to launch a similar program beginning this fall on the MSU campus.

    April 20, 2014

  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014