Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

December 16, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Law gives workers right to earn keep

This is in response to the  comments by Terry Sexton in the Wednesday, Dec. 12, Independent about Michigan’s new the right to work law.

When I was 17 and living in eastern Kentucky, there were very few jobs and most young people headed north to find work. When I got to Cleveland, Ohio, I wanted the right to work. I met a personnel manager who was from this area. She hired me for a factory job. After a probationary period, I ended up in the United Mine Workers union but I worked for the Sherwin-Williams Co.

To really get ahead, I needed more education. I found out that either union or non-union employees could go to college free. This company paid tuition and books and all the employee had to do was maintain a C average. This was company policy not negotiated.

I worked for that company for 20 years and ended up as packaging manager. As I was leaving to take a management job back Kentucky, a union officer asked if I ever missed having the backing of the union. Not at all, I said. I was willing to work as an individual and prove I could make the company more money than they were paying me.

Now 73, I worked for 46 years. I always felt like I made a good living wage. In response to Terry's stack of papers being harder to tear than a single sheet, I can spot one mediocre person who needs the rest of the stack. I personally like individuals who will earn their way; so do both companies and unions.

The law that was passed gives each employee the right to get a job, earn his keep and make his own decisions. This law has nothing to do with hindering negotiations for wages and benefits.

Robert H. Williams, Cannonsburg

Text Only
Opinion
  • By a thread

    It took some last-minute political maneuvering by State Rep. Tanya Pullin, D-South Shore and some skilled wheeling and dealing to prevent a bill important to AK Steel in Ashland from ending up on the scrapheap of the 2014 Kentucky General Assembly.

    April 23, 2014

  • Along the river

    Here’s hoping the weather will be as close to perfect as possible on the evening of May 30, as members of the Paul G. Blazer High School class of 2014 gather on the banks of Ohio River for the school’s first graduation on the river that has helped fuel this community’s economy since the time when it was known as known as Poage’s Landing.

    April 22, 2014

  • Good opportunity

    Morehead State University is using a highly successful program for outstanding high school juniors and seniors at Western Kentucky University to launch a similar program beginning in the fall of 2015 on the MSU campus.

    April 20, 2014

  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

Featured Ads
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
SEC Zone