Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

November 14, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Editorial draws sharp criticism

In response to the Nov. 10 editorial offering advice to the new city manager, I couldn't disagree with you more. I have worked under both systems of government and believe you are confused as to the role of a city manager.

It sounds like the paper would pay Mr. Bitter $110,000 a year plus a $500 a month vehicle allowance then tell him not to express any opinions or utilize the education and talents which were the reason for his initial hiring.

Retract that ridiculous rubbish. Wish Mr. Bitter well, and tell him to both manage and lead. Perhaps you should tell the elected officials to get out of his way and let him do the job they selected him to perform. This also goes for department heads. Perhaps it is time to move outside your philosophical comfort zone in order to improve our city.

Not to insult our city commission, but part-time politicians exist due to voter popularity, not based on their talent or expertise in moving Ashland forward. That’s why we hire a city manager. City commissioners did their job and selected the best candidate. Mr. Bitter must now move the city forward. I hope and pray for his success.

Perhaps Mr. (Bill) Fisher (former city manager) wasn’t all that good. Doing nothing may increase a city manager’s job longevity but it won’t benefit the city of Ashland.

Please encourage Mr. Bitter to use his education, knowledge and ability. Ashland is in decline and no matter how much we want to hold onto the past, the future requires change and vision. If I were Mr. Bitter and read your editorial, I would have serious concern as to the type of regressive, backwards focused city that employed me.

The editorial embarrassed both the city and The Independent.

 Mike Wilson, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • Good opportunity

    Morehead State University is using a highly successful program for outstanding high school juniors and seniors at Western Kentucky University to launch a similar program beginning this fall on the MSU campus.

    April 20, 2014

  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014