Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

August 12, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Teachers face many challenges

There is a new evaluation system being implemented for teachers in Kentucky. Since I worked in the Ashland School System for many years, I believet I can give the Kentucky Department of Education “my evaluation” of the professionals whoat I have worked with. This involves educators from Crabbe School as well as correspondence with other local school personnel.

It is very difficult to keep classroom students engaged because each boy and girl is required to be there.  There are also many challenging situations that arise in a classroom setting because of various student interests and ability  levels.  The teachers I have worked with and observed have met this challenge in a “very satisfactory manner.”

  I can most assuredly give out “positive evaluations” for the money these educators spend out of their own pockets for classroom materials. They also spend many hours of professional development and collaboration outside of the regular school day for educational purposes.

My personal evaluation has seen a lot of concern that teachers take home with them about each of their students.

The Ashland School System stays on top of the latest technology. Because there are so many changes and information that is accessible, teachers spend a lot of “extra time” in preparation for each class that is taught.

For example, Smartboards are a nice thing but they are still lecture tools.  The human element is still the essential component for making this learning process work.  The Ashland teachers deserve “high satisfactory”  ratings in this area.

The Ashland School District has qualified educators. The Kentucky Department of Education should be concerned that these highly trained professionals don’t start their own evaluation process. They might find a more lucrative profession that could be just as satisfying as teaching. That would be a shame for “Ashland’s kids.” 

Bryan Fleming, Ashland

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014