Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

August 11, 2013

In Your View

(Continued)

ASHLAND — Good idea but wrong place

I have been reading all about the Recovery Kentucky drug treatment center.  I just had to voice my opinion.

Great idea, good news, wrong place.

I think the treatment center should be in Ashland. There is property for sale on 8th and Central Avenue that I think would be ideal. In fact, behind it on Bath Avenue, a house is for sale and the house next door at 845 Bath is a rental. It might be possible to buy other houses on that block if they need more space. It is close to everything needed.

No one opposed the Hospice building on Central Avenue. There’s no difference. Many people depend on Hospice at the end of their lives. The Recovery treatment center is helping people in their lives. That is how we got the Betty Ford Center. She was one of these people with a disease. I wonder how many people in that subdivision would have cared to have the former first lady move next door to them?

Love your neighbor as yourself. Isn’t that what we are supposed to do? When the Lord calls us it will not matter the value of your property value or anything else. But for the grace of God it could be us. Any of us would be grateful to get help with this disease. Think about this! God knows everything!

Bernadette Slusher, Ashland

Leave power plant as it is

As an introduction, I believe in God and I also believe that one person can make a difference in this world. I have seen it happen. It only takes one person to get the ball rolling, and through a faithful following, others can come aboard, and changes can be made! My purpose here is to offer encouragement to someone who has the time to pursue a cause.  And this cause is the Big Sandy Power Plant in Lawrence County, Kentucky.

There has been a lot of talk lately per what will happen with the power plant which supplies electricity to a great big part of eastern Kentucky. Scrubbers have been mentioned and a total shut-down with replacement of our electricity out of northern West Virginia is also a possibility.

In either case, you can be assured it will cost us a bundle. New EPA regulations are due out on June 1, 2015, which Kentucky will need to implement one year later. At this point in time, no one knows what the new regulations will entail or what course to take.

Thanks to President Obama, the June unemployment rate jumped from10.2 percent a year ago to 11.5 percent in Lawrence County. He is also bringing the coal industry to its knees, literally and figuratively.  Considering, too, how all else of his grandiose plans have faltered, we need to pray for him, for he knows not what he does.

In view of this, I believe the best course for us, in regard to the power plant, would be to leave things exactly as they currently are for the next 10 years.  With this in mind, I would hope, and pray, that someone can take this thought and run with it, for all our sakes. One person can make a difference. God bless you all.

John F. Enyart , Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • PAUL CHITWOOD: Ruling on same-sex marriage defies state constitution

    News that U.S. District Judge John G. Heyburn once again usurped the will of Kentucky voters is tragic and disappointing. By declaring gay marriage legal in the commonwealth, Heyburn defied the essential, foundational governing document that ensures order and justice, the Constitution of Kentucky.

    July 8, 2014

  • More difficult

    In a state like Kentucky with the number of adults who have not graduated from high school is much higher than the national average, undereducated adults have been encouraged to earn high-school equivalency degrees by studying for, taking and passing the General Educational Development (GED) test.

    May 22, 2014

  • Primary election sends messages

    The voters — or at least the minority who took the time to go to the polls Tuesday — have spoken, with Boyd County voters sending mixed messages in the county-wide races that gathered the most attention.

    May 21, 2014

  • Click it or Ticket

    "Click it or Ticket” is a phrase used so often in recent years most of us hardly give it a thought.

    May 21, 2014

  • Top trooper

    Thumbs up to Trooper First Class Shane Goodall of Flatwoods for being named 2013 Trooper of the Year for Kentucky.

    May 20, 2014

  • 05/18/2014 — This Week in the Tri-State

    Local news

    May 18, 2014

  • Magolene S. Fraley 1929-2014

    Magolene Spears Fraley, 84, of Wurtland, died Saturday in Community Hospice Care Center in Ashland.

    May 17, 2014

  • Business grant

    Morehead State graduate student Kayla Keeton, who received her undergraduate degree from MSU last spring and is now studying for her MBA at the school, has received a $5,111 grant from the Kentucky Cabinet for Economic Development to help her start Belles of the Bluegrass, a high-tech wedding planning business.

    May 16, 2014

  • Recovery Fest celebrates kicking addiction

    The wet weather no doubt impacted the size of the crowd at Saturday’s Recovery Fest 2014 at Veterans Riverfront Park in Ashland, but there were plenty of reasons for addicts who are now drug free to celebrate and for speakers like State Sen. Robin Webb, D-Grayson, and others to talk about the impact the prescription drug epidemic has had on this region and for others to distribute literature and offer words of encouragement that could convince some to seek help in their battle with their drug addictions.

    May 13, 2014

  • In Your View 5/13/14

    Letters to the editor:

    May 13, 2014