Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

August 1, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Subdivision not place for center

The July 28 story about Recovery Kentucky coming to Boyd County is very vague in saying it is being built around the Kyova Mall. The truth is it is being proposed to be built in Cedar Knoll subdivision.

I don’t understand how this can be even considered. I live there and none of the neighbors are in favor of this. If anything, we are scared to death to think that our safe area will be invaded by this element.

 I have always been careful not to expose my children to this. That is why I purchased my home here for them to grow up safe. Now, if this is allowed, no one will be safe.

Most of these men are criminals that have been ordered by the court to either go to rehab or jail! I have also learned that this wasn’t the first site proposed  for this facility; there was another away from residences.

Why was this changed ? Why would you build a treatment center overlooking a mall with two bars if you truly wanted someone to get rehabilitation? The facilities plans for this site need to be stopped now and built elsewhere, away from our families.

William Randolph, Ashland

Spitting out gum is form of littering

Isn’t spitting out gum when you are finished chewing it littering? I’ve noticed it a lot lately, especially in front of Aldi’s, Walmart and King’s Daughters’ Heart and Vascular Center.

Don’t people know how to dispose of gum properly? You keep the wrapper it came in, and when you are through chewing, you wrap the gum in the wrapper and throw it into a trash can.

What’s that I just stepped on? What’s that on my new sneakers? Aw, come on man!

Mike Dixon, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014