Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

October 22, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Obamacare like the seatbelt law

Opinions are like noses: everybody has one.

 It seems to me that the big argument with our would-be leaders in Washington about Obamacare can be compared to the seatbelt law we have today all over the United States.

This law was designed and shoved down the taxpayers’ throats by greedy power-hungry politicians and law enforcement. All they had to do about seat belts was to have a law that would put the responsibility of the seatbelt on the individual, and if they did not have the seat belts on and had a wreck, then their insurance was no good on them or their car.

Money and control of the taxpayers seems to be the only way our leaders can think anymore.  They were elected to protect Americans, not persecute them, not to close down America and leave the borders open, and not to pass another law that they can fine a taxpayer for not having insurance because the insurance company had just raised the price until they cannot afford it.

 Cliff Barker, Morehead

Extension clubs rich in volunteers

I was excited to see the article in Thursday’s paper regarding getting the volunteer agencies together with the Ashland Alliance and Mayor Chuck Charles.

This is to let them in on one of the best-kept secrets in Boyd County volunteers: The Boyd County Extension Homemakers Association!  Our nine active clubs recorded more than 27,000 hours of volunteering last year. We meet monthly for an educational lesson brought to us by the University of Kentucky along with interesting workshops. 

We have daytime and evening clubs and this year our nine clubs have joined together to decorate the Highlands Museum for the Christmas season.  We are always open for new members, and welcome questions about our clubs. The extension office phone number is ( 606) 739-5184.

Ann Wiseman, secretary, Boyd County Homemakers Association

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014