Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

October 18, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Cancer ‘infiltrates’ many individuals

I am writing in response to Oct. 16 letter regarding “Pink Awareness.”

While reading how the “pink campaign against cancer has infiltrated and imposed itself on football,” I couldn’t help but think how cancer “infiltrates” and “imposes” itself on people —  football fans, non-football fans, “radical feminists” as well as aunts, grandmothers, sisters, mothers, daughters and friends.

Let’s keep our eye on the ball (pardon the pun) and work together to find a cure for every type of cancer, because it will affect each one of us or someone we love during our lives. 

 Bev Fields, Ashland

Biden’s ‘smirking’ cause for concern

The recent debate with Vice President Joe Biden caused me great concern when I consider that he is second in line to the presidency. His laughter and smirking at times during the debate when the topic was most serious seemed more than strange to me.

This is a 69-year-old man who has been in Washington almost all of his adult life and one would think he would be able to comport himself more respectfully.  But neither President Obama nor Biden are good for the country.

Their policies are detrimental and their beliefs are contrary to most Americans. God help us if they are re-elected.

Glenda Wellman Conn, Ashland

Spriggs’ record earns his support

No one should need to be reminded of the difficult economic times that are present in Ashland and the surrounding area. It must also be clear how important it is to elect the right people. We have several good candidates, but I endorse one in particular. Cheryl Spriggs has served as a city commissioner before and did so with distinction.

I was told by the census office more than 15 years ago that Ashland eventually would be a city of 15,000 residents. It seems it was right. It is incumbent upon our elected officials to make this the best city of 15,000 that it can be. This transition will require many changes in the operation of city government, which will require difficult decisions. I’m convinced Cheryl has the intelligence, diligence and courage to make those decisions.

Rudy Dunnigan, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014