Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

November 10, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Asking God’s help with drug issue

Every day I am saddened when I hear stories of children in our region suffering from abuse or neglect because their parents are addicted to drugs.

Every day my heart breaks for families struggling to cope with a loved one’s addiction.

Every day nearly three people die in Kentucky because of drugs.

Every day I pray that something can be done about the escalating abuse of prescription painkillers.

Drug abuse and addiction are prevalent in every community. The average age of first-time drug use in southern and eastern Kentucky is age 11. It is a problem that won’t go away on its own, and cannot be solved unless we all take a stand.

Let’s ignite a “Fire in the Mountains” at 3 p.m. Sunday, Nov. 18, at three simultaneous regional prayer rallies to be at the Eastern Kentucky Expo Center in Pikeville, Somerset Christian School Auditorium in Somerset, and the Old Corbin Civic Center in Corbin. “Fire in the Mountains” is a free event for people of all faiths who are concerned about drug abuse, addiction and recovery to come together as one through prayer.

Each program will feature prayers led by leaders representing many segments of the community — reflecting the broad impact of the drug epidemic — as well as special speakers and worship selections.

We hope the rallies will give concerned citizens an opportunity to volunteer to make a difference in people’s lives, whether through prevention, treatment, or support for those dealing with addiction-related issues. We envision the “Fire” to spread throughout southern and eastern Kentucky, sparking on-going prayer events in all counties.

For more information about “Fire in the Mountains” contact Carl Varney at 606-594-8144 or cvarney@centertech.com.

We need everyone involved. Let us all come together at 3 p.m. on Sunday, Nov.18, to pray with one unified voice crying out to God for help with the drug problem.

Karen Kelly, Director, Operation UNITE

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014