Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

October 21, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Work together to fix America

Confused? Democrat, Republican ... I can’t understand politics.

Just once, why can’t they work together and ty to fix America. Instead, all they want to do is throw mud at one another.

God bless America, but why should he? They have kicked God out of everything they can. We can’t even display the Ten Commandments in a public place.

This country was founded on God, and I say if you live here and don;t like it, you can leave. The first thing we need to do to fix our problems is to put God first.  Then it should be not what you can do for me, but what I can do for you.

It’s about people helping people. The rich help the poor, tje young help the old, the stron help the weak.

We have the opportunity to live in the richest country in the world if everyone would just help one another.

Leonard F. Barnhill, Grayson

Rude treatment at local SSI office

On Monday, Oct. 15, I accompanied my sister-in-law to the Social Security Offfice in the federal building in Ashland. The rudeness of the security officer operating the scanner was uncalled for, especially here in Ashland and because there was another person behind us.

I have set off the alarm with my carry-on bag at LaGuardia Airport in New York City with a long line behind me and never encountered the rudeness that my sister did in Ashland. There was no justification for his attitude as she was complying with his orders. She is in her eighties and had just dropped off one of her hearing aids to be repaired.

The officer was tall in stature but short on manners. I was pleased to observe that none of the other personnel took after him.

Jane Perdue, Catlettsburg 

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO region with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014