Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

March 14, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Many distracted drivers detected

As I was out and about doing the errands needed to run a household, I was amazed at the amount of adult drivers whipping and swerving around our city streets with disregard for public safety or courtesy while chatting away on their “smart” phones.

Several times I was ushered to the edge of the roadway while a mother with a SUV full of children drifted into my lane while checking her mascara in the mirror and sending a text on her “smart” phone.

I am constantly amazed how these other drivers seem to assume that since I am paying attention to the task at hand, they can turn their cars into a personal office and set the automobile on autopilot.

Why is it my responsibility to make sure that these multitasking individuals are not taking out my quarter panels or shoving my rear bumper into my trunk? If these phones are so “smart,” looks like they could put some kind of app on the thing that disables it if detects motion over 10 miles per hour. And the public service announcements on the radio asking teenage drivers to put the phone down while driving also should be aimed  at the mothers and fathers setting horrible examples by texting, talking, emailing and networking on their “not-so-smart” phones.

In closing, please, fellow drivers, have some common sense and put away the phone for the measley five minutes it takes to get to the doctor’s office or Kroger’s or whatever. I promise that whatever conversation waits for those few moments will be well worth the time used for attentive driving.

The weather is warming up and more people will be out and about. Let's keep them safe by  paying attention behind the wheel and have some courtesy for one another.

Cat Stewart, Ashland 

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014