Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

March 11, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Is Catlettsburg a speed trap?

I have to watch in amazement each morning as I slowly navigate my way on four-lane U.S. 23 from Ashland towards the Catlettsburg city limits. Catlettsburg police are running radar and issuing tickets to the drivers of vehicles long before they reach any school zone or business area.

Yes, the speed limit is posted, and I understand that that covers the officers from any scrutiny from the legal system. Anyone who has traveled that portion of U.S. 23 would tell you that the posted speed limit is too low. Many would contend the speed limit is posted so low to catch unassuming drivers.

As I pass by those motorists at 7:30 a.m. — a time when most criminals are back home from their night of stealing our personal possessions  — I glance over and see a mother trying to get her kids to school and a young man and woman trying to get to their minimum-wage jobs.

I wonder about the focus of the officers writing those tickets. Is it to protect us from going just a few miles over the speed limit or to ruin our days by writing us a ticket and forcing us to pay a fine?

Chris Adkins, Ashland

Proud to be grad of state champs

Sometime in the early 1950s plans were made to consolidate four small high schools — Central, Kingston, Kirksville and Waco. I am proud to be from the 1958 graduating class of that consolidation, Madison Central High School.

There aren’t many folks in this area who even know where it is but, if you do and are out there reading this letter, then you share the pride I feel. Saturday night the Indians won their first state basketball tournament in the history of Madison Central High School.

In both the semifinal and final game they were behind most of three quarters, by as much as 16 points Sunday in the finals, but they came back with all the courage, competitiveness, and spirit that makes me proud to be a Madison Central alumni!

 Dr. Barbara Walters, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO region with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014