Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

May 1, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — He wasn’t ready for college work

I graduated from a small school in Ashland with high aspirations and a desire to succeed in college. However, once classes began, I realized my situation was less than ideal. I never imagined the level of writing college would expect of me compared to what high school had taught me — which was not enough, having only written two “big” papers in all of high school.

This would create a great strain on my college career. After talking with other students and professors, I found I wasn’t alone. College instructors (nationally) estimate that 50 percent of the students at their school are not adequately prepared for college-level writing. This is a huge problem because only 10 percent  of jobs in America accept applicants with anything less than a college degree. In addition, employers estimate that 39 percent of recent high school graduates with no further education are unprepared for the expectations that they face in entry-level jobs.

There is little time for students to play catch up while in college — as the need for retraining in writing often results in a loss of confidence and results in students dropping out — because they should have already been prepared in high school for what is going to be expected.

Students need to receive ample opportunities for writing and training in research and grammar skills numerous times every year. Doing this would better prepare the students for what college expects and give them the necessary skills to succeed in any type of education.

No student should have to waste time like I’m doing taking an unnecessary writing class to further develop their skills. It’s worth taking the time now to make sure your skills are where they need to be.

Aaron Hannah, Berea College student, Raceland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014

Featured Ads
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
SEC Zone