Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

February 10, 2013

In Your VIew

ASHLAND — Kids do not know purpose in life

Black History Month means so much to me as an Afro/Native American and a Christian. The month of February pays tribute to those Americans who loved their fellow men, their country and their God. Through the guidance and help of their Heavenly Father their generation found and lived out their meaning and purpose in God’s plan for us.

How would you respond if asked about your purpose in life? It would challenge most of us because our generation has been shielded in our public school system from expressing our relationship with our Heavenly Father in the classroom.  As a result some have stated through observation that, “all of our knowledge has brought us nearer to our ignorance.”

Many parents rely on public schools to teach their children important things. But many of us and our children are not learning about one important thing, their meaning and purpose in life.

Hundreds of millions of dollars are spent experimenting on “developmentally appropriate” teaching strategies so that our students may be competitive compared to students in other school districts. They have ignored the “developmentally appropriateness” of prayer in school. 

Dr. James Dobson tells the story about a high school student who scored perfect on the SAT. Her teachers bragged about how intelligent she was. A reporter asked her if she knew what the meaning or purpose in her life is. She admitted that she did not know but that she would like to know. This is a devastating indictment of the public schools’ policy on prayer!

Our generation is in debt to our forefathers for teaching by example that in order to fulfill God’s plan in our lives a relationship with our Heavenly Father is mandatory. Prayer in our schools can guide our children to open themselves up to our Heavenly Father.

Bob Smith, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014