Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

June 22, 2013

Words of thanks

ASHLAND — I commend the people who work at the Ironton Fresenius Dialysis Unit. I have been going there three times a week for a year now, and the workers do everything they can to help us feel comfortable in every way.

No one likes to come here three times aweek, but it is not so bad when you are around people who are good to you and can care for you. The friendship and good work of those who work at the dialysus center is appreciated.

Iris A. Cordle, Waterloo, Ohio

--

I thank those who supported the second annual Harley for the Homeless Benefit Motorcycle Rise and Hot-Rod for the homeless Car Show.

Because of the commitment of volunteers, we raised $3,000 in funds and an equal amount in door prizes and other in-kind goods.  We registered 45 bikers and 12 hot rods for our car show. We also had the help of 23 volunteers and 12 celebrity servers this year. Wow! The Shelter of Hope could not count this year as a success without this support. We thank them.

All proceeds will help us continue to support the homeless families in Boyd and Greenup counties.

We invite people to become a friend on our Facebook page to help keep you up to date with information about all of our upcoming events and other ways the can help us help homeless families.

Candy Goldie, VISTA Public Relations,Coordinator, Shelter of Hope

--

 On Friday, June 14, I stopped by at the Rose Hill Cemetery in Ashland and met Debbie. She was so helpful in locating the graves of my great-grandparents Walter and Emma Johnson. She also helped me find more relatives.

I never expected her to show me exactly where they were buried. She went above and beyond expectations. I thank her very much for making my day a great one.

Roy Williams, Columbus, Ohio

Text Only
Opinion
  • By a thread

    It took some last-minute political maneuvering by State Rep. Tanya Pullin, D-South Shore and some skilled wheeling and dealing to prevent a bill important to AK Steel in Ashland from ending up on the scrapheap of the 2014 Kentucky General Assembly.

    April 23, 2014

  • Along the river

    Here’s hoping the weather will be as close to perfect as possible on the evening of May 30, as members of the Paul G. Blazer High School class of 2014 gather on the banks of Ohio River for the school’s first graduation on the river that has helped fuel this community’s economy since the time when it was known as known as Poage’s Landing.

    April 22, 2014

  • Good opportunity

    Morehead State University is using a highly successful program for outstanding high school juniors and seniors at Western Kentucky University to launch a similar program beginning in the fall of 2015 on the MSU campus.

    April 20, 2014

  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO region with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

Featured Ads
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
SEC Zone