Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

September 8, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Who stole the American dream?

Who stole and American dream?

Was it you? Or was it a few greedy and power-hungry men who cared not for America but to achieve the power of God over American citizens to do their will? Democracy is an idea when people can live together with love, trust and harmony. Have you failed or has everyone else failed you?

I am a World War II veteran with the 77th Division and I have seem this country change from a loving, trusting country to a divided nation since they took God out of the schools and public places.

Cliff Barker

Morehead

Are we afraId to speak out?

There’re an old song that asks: Were you there when they crucified my Lord?

It is happening again in our time and in our land in more ways than one.  The recent marriage ceremony of a same-sex couple perfomrmed by a member of the U.S. Supreme Court drives another nail in our Lard’s hand and thrusts another spear in his side.

What is happening to our country? Does anyone care or dare to speak out? Who has the courage to be the “watchman on the wall?”

Or will we just wait to see what happens?

Earl H. Stewart

Grayson

Letters invited

The Independent invites readers to submit In Your View letters on public issues. Letters must not exceed 300 words and must include the name, address and telephone number of the author. Words of Thanks are limited to no more than 150 words. The Independent cannot guarantee a day of publication for letters but makes an effort to publish letters in a timely manner. The Independent reserves the right to edit letters for length, grammar, spelling, accuracy and appropriateness of language. Letters that cannot be verified will not be published. For questions about letters, contact John Cannon, opinion page editor, at jcannon@dialyindependent.com or at (606) 326-2649.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014