Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

August 16, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Recovery center would be asset

This is in response to the story about opposition to the Genesis Recovery Center that Pathways is planning.

To everyone who agrees that Ashland needs a place like this, but says they do not want it in their neighborhood, I ask the question: “If not yours, whose?”

Also if you do not think that there are already addicts living in your neighborhoods, I bet you would be surprised. These addicts are not interested in getting better; they are only interested in getting their next pill.

I can almost guarantee that every single person in Ashland knows someone whose family has someone with a drug problem; they may not admit someone has a drug problem or the family may not be aware of the problem, but it’s that bad these days.

I worked as an addictions counselor for two years, and the first thing I learned was addiction affects people from all walks of life: rich, poor, educated, young, old, healthy and disabled.

The clinic that Pathways is planning will not accept just anyone off the streets either. It will have specific criteria like you cannot have a propensity to violence, have been charged with a sexual crime, etc. Personally, I would rather have a recovery center in my neighborhood than some of the drug houses we currently have in Ashland. At least the people in the recovery center are recovering and want to make a positive change.

Jennifer Nichols, Ashland

Writer misses ‘old’Pathways

Once it was important to Pathways to promote the health and well-being of citizens and communities. Pathways endeavored to treat all community members with respect and dignity and to maintain the public’s trust and confidence in the services provided.

Pathways recent treatment of the Cedar Knoll community strongly suggests that these goals and core values are no longer important.

I miss the “old” Pathways.

M.S. Sampson, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO region with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014

Featured Ads
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
SEC Zone