Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

March 13, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — We should all be Americans first

What are we?

First of all, most of the people living in America should be naturalized Americans, meaning they were born in America. The rest of the American people are legalized immigrants. But nevertheless still Americans.

Unfortunately, we also have people who look at themselves as Democrats, Republicans and Independents and seem to forget about being Americans. This is where the problem lies. We should all be Americans first.

Our different political parties are empowered by politicians with agendas that are not always in the best interests of the country or the people. The politicians are supported and influenced by the political machines they belong to and hardly ever put the country first.

Unfortunately, we have lobbyists and big money machines that want to control and dictate the directions the country will take, and in so doing, dictate how each of us live within our government. They are attempting to change everything our Constitution has always stood for.

The American people can put a stop to the corruption taking place in Washington. We need to vote together for the common good. Forget the political party squat, belong to the party of your choice but vote for the men and women in Washington who want to do positive things for our country. Don’t be blindly led by party loyalty. Think like an American should — responsibly.

Norm Rist, Ashland

VISTA workers are real asset

In recognition of National AmeriCorps Week, March 10 through 16, United Way of Northeast Kentucky honors our sponsored AmeriCorp VISTAs.

We appreciate the hard work, creativity and leadership of Ashley Traylor at CAReS, Vicki Aleshire at the Northeast Kentucky Care Center, Julia Vice at River Cities Harvest, Rose Snowden at Two Hearts Pregnancy Care Center, Candy Goldie at the Shelter of Hope, B.J. Fraley at Ashland Community Kitchen and Darrell Caldwell at The Neighborhood.

Started more than 45 years ago, VISTA — Volunteers in Service to America — fulfills a nationwide commitment to fight poverty.

We appreciate the talents VISTA workers bring to their agencies, from coordinating annual Christmas toy collections, food drives, fundraisers, volunteer recruitment and more. UWNEK proudly salutes them for their service and dedication during National AmeriCorps Week.

Steve Towler, director, UWNEK

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO region with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014