Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

November 10, 2012

Words of Thanks

ASHLAND — The students and staff at George M. Verity Middle School thank all veterans for their duty and service to our great country. As a way of showing our thanks, we extend an invitation to our Veterans Day program scheduled for Monday at 10:30 a.m. in our school’s auditorium.

Our very own science teacher and veteran, Jerry Whelan, will be the guest speaker. Following the cermonies, we will treat our veterans to a special lunch with us.

We welcome all veterans to this event and ask that you call our school at (606) 327-2727 for further information or to let us know you are coming.

Emily Watkins, Madison Ratliff, and Megan Click, VMS students 

--

On Nov. 3, Friends of Hospice had its annual rummage sale. We have so many to thank for making this sale successful.

They include the generous people who made the donations of articles to be sold, the many who purchased them, the First Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) for the use of its facilities, Kroger, Food Fair, Sue Lowe, volunteers from Community Hospice, Dakota and Jaykob Lafeber from Boy Scout Troop 112 and their leaders Bob Cruickshank and Steve Crace, those who let us display our posters, and The Independent.

Our special thank you goes to Harry and Martha Osborne for their many years of pickup and delivery.  All of the proceeds from this sale are given to Community Hospice.

Darlene Allen for Friends of Hospice, Ashland

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014