Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

November 26, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Sign of future under ACA?

Early April 2013, I submitted my 2012 1040 to the IRS (Internal Revenue Service).  I was due a $268 refund. 

May 6, 2013, an IRS computer sent me a letter.  “Some changes had been made” and I owed $673.

I responded, explaining why the “changes” could not be true.  Two computers responded but not to the specifics in my letter. One needed a 45-day extension for research and one added interest and a failure-to-pay penalty to the previous $673 bill.

After many more letters, a computer informed me in early October of its intent to seize my property. The next day, the research computer informed me by letter that it had reached a decision.  The next day, I received a refund check for $268. Finally, on Nov. 15, a computer declared that my 2012 tax was paid in full.

Why the computers threatened and harassed me from May to October is a mystery.

Now, apply my simple 1040 situation to the most complex, valuable asset any person can possess — good health — and consider this hypothetical. You or a loved one needs a test or surgery and time is critical. A bureaucratic bungle denies coverage. When you attempt to get coverage confirmed so  treatment can go forward, a bureaucrat in a distant city assigns a cadre of non-responsive computers to your case that will presume you do not have coverage until you can prove you do. 

Far fetched?  Not really. The Affordable Care Act will be the “King Kong” of bureaucracies. After implementation, it is reasonable to predict millions will experience my 1040-like predicament and sick citzens need prompt human responses, not computer-generated non-responses.

Moreover, the so-called rollout of that wolf in health-care clothing has already presented a preview of its customer service that should frighten every soon-to-be indentured citizen.

Shafter Bailey, Lexington

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014