Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

January 24, 2014

Words of thanks

ASHLAND — I want to take a moment to recognize the Boyd County Road Department and itsr supervisors. 

I have driven our county roads since 1969 and never have they been take care of like they have in the past several years.  They face bad weather, cold conditions and even late night working hours to have the roads clear for school and work traffic..

I say “thank you” and “God bless” to them at all times, on and off the job.

 Tara L. Howell, King's Daughters  Medical Center Facilities Assistant

--

I’m writing to let a few people know that their behind-the-scenes actions scenes have not been overlooked. When a funeral occurs in Greenup County, there are a couple groups of people that for the most part go unnoticed. I’m speaking of the folks of our local law enforcement and our road departments.

Both provide a valuable resource to families that have lost loved ones.

From funeral escorts to making sure that the roads we travel in inclement weather are passable, their services have gone on for so long that we take for them for granted and forget that not every place has the services we have here at home.

I thank  the men and women who often go unnoticed whgile working to make that day for the grieving family a little more bearable.

Neil Wright, Wright’s Funeral Home, Greenup

Letters invited

The Independent invites readers to submit In Your View letters on public issues. Letters must not exceed 300 words and must include the name, address and telephone number of the author. Words of Thanks are limited to no more than 150 words. The Independent cannot guarantee a day of publication for letters. The Independent reserves the right to edit letters for length, grammar, spelling, accuracy and appropriateness of language.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014