Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

June 11, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Enforce the ban on loud vehicles

Recently I decided to take advantage of a warm, breezy night and take a drive through downtown.  At every stop light, however, I was accosted by a loud motorcycle. Needless to say, I did not enjoy my drive. I gave up, came home to relax on my porch, only to have another loud motorcycle drive back and forth through my neighborhood.

Enough is enough!  

I remember when I was a kid, a loud muffler guaranteed you a ticket. My question is this: When did loud mufflers become not annoying (they haven’t)?  When did they become legal (they haven’t)?  When did it become OK to blatantly disregard the law? When did the interest of a few outweigh the interest of the majority?

I would love to see the city ordinance prohibiting loud vehicles enforced again.

Tammy Howard, Ashland

BCMS archery title gets snubbed

Last week I forwarded an email to several people at The Independent telling them about the state championship that Boyd County Middle School’s 3D Archery team won. On Sunday, there was a small caption under the team’s picture on the last page of the sports section. That’s it. The caption included the coaches names but did not include the team member names. Really! These kids work as hard as they do and do not even get their name in the paper.

This is the first state championship won by any school in Boyd County since the Boyd County baseball team in 2001 and all we get is a small paragraph and picture on the last page of the sports section.  A local 5K run and a local tennis tournament got the front page and a big writeup. Really!

Ashland Kittens lose in the softball tournament and get the front page of the paper.  Really!

Come on, people, these kids won a state championship! Give them the respect they deserve. Not the last page in the sports section!

Sarah Dotson, Boyd County

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014