Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

November 7, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Keep health department open

I dropped by the South Shore branch of the Greenup County Health Department a few days ago and was surprised to find it closed. A note on the door explained the business days there had been reduced to two a week.

An unofficial remark made to another person later stated that the health department would close the facility altogether in the near future. Lack of business is the reason, it was reported.

It’s no wonder. The office for the health department in South Shore is the most hidden-away of any business in the city. You have to know where you are going to find it. In addition, hardly anyone (myself included) knows what services the branch office provides. For that matter, we don’t know what the main facility offers. I have asked for many years if there is a brochure available that explains these services or the lack thereof. To date, I have not seen even one.

Closing the South Shore branch of the health department would be a serious step backward in Greenup County progress. For years, many of us requested that health department’s services be extended to the western end of Greenup County because so many of our older citizens can’t travel 20 miles to Greenup. As far as I know, there is no public transportation.

 Times are tough for many of our citizens who live on disability and other fixed income budgets and large numbers of the working poor in this area who have no health insurance. My belief is the health department can provide aid and comfort to these folks and others who have lost so much over the years.

Closing this facility would add to the widespread conviction that the western end of the county is being left out of the picture, one more time.

Soc Clay, South Shore

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014