Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

January 26, 2014

In Your View

ASHLAND — Letting McGlone go was a mistake

I was glad to see Sean Horne take over as superintendent of the Russell schools. He grew up next door to me.

But I ask the superintendent if the dismissal of Russell football coach Ivan McGlone was the right thing to do.

I know from experience that some people from Russell have a lot more influence than others. Back around 2000 and 2002, there was a handful of us who were putting in countless hours at the football stadium, painting the big ”R” on the field, putting up the fire-breathing Devil, painting handrails all around the stadium, hanging signs and banners.  Where were all those influential people then?

 One year we raised money to purchase a PA system to play music while the boys were warming up. I was shown a letter from a woman asking us to stop playing that music because she came to the games early to socialize and she could not do that because of the noise.

A little bit at a time, that lady won out. Of all the people who say it was time for a change, I bet some of them are also just at the game to socialize.  Some will go home and not even know what the score was.

Maybe we don’t need a new coach; we need a new support system. Most fans have never seen the small sign on the gym that reads, “These eyes are not to be referred to as the devil’s eyes, but the eyes of determination as seen in the  eyes of the class of 2003.”

A lot of that determination came for Coach Ivan McGlone and his staff.

After Coach McGlone’s service to our sons and some of their fathers for 30-plus yeas, he should have been able to stay even if he was on life support.

Louis Gabbard, Flatwoods 

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014