Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

April 7, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Local drivers fail to use blinkers

I just came back from a trip to Lexington. While there, I noticed all drivers were using their blinker signals before turning. 

After checking, I found that all cars and trucks manufactured after the early 1960s were required to have “directional signals”  installed.  I also discovered  it is the law in that fair city to use your turn signals or receive a citation from law enforcement, up to $58.

What a concept for Ashland, Ironton and Huntington: Using turn signals that are already on our vehicles. I know it would distract from eating, drinking, phoning, and all the other things we do besides driving safely on our roads. Think of all the fender benders and insurance claims we could eliminate, just by the click of a little handle.

As far as enforcing the use of turn signals, there is probably an obscure city ordinance somewhere with dust all over it that is never used. Mainly because our officers and deputies do not use them, either.

Just think, driving through your downtown with someone giving you a signal that they intend to make a turn, instead of jamming on their brakes and then turning, or just make an oncoming turn in front of you, nearly missing an accident.

I think the Big City guys may be on to something. Maybe we all should start using our directional signals.  If you forgot where they are, look around the steering column. Happy motoring.

Don Stewart, Ashland

Before casting the first stone ...

If at all possible I would like to ask everyone to take a moment to open their minds and consider this thought for just a moment: To everyone who opposes gay marriage or believes that your Bible gives you the moral authority to dictate the rights of others, your children will look back at you like we look at those who told blacks and women that they didn’t have the same rights as white men.

Think about that before you cast the first stones.

Cat Stewart, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014