Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

November 27, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Cartoon maligns 2 fine Americans

It was with some sadness and anger, but not much surprise, that I viewed the cartoon in your opinion/commentary page of Nov. 19 maligning two fine Americans.

Sen. John McCain has served his country well! After being shot down and enduring six years of hell for this country, he continues to serve even after some have apparently forgotten. Well, some of us haven’t!

 And Condoleezza Rice has impressed me from the start. She is of proven grit, capability and intellect.

 I know which Rice I would prefer, and it’s not Uncle Ben’s.

John J. Bailey, Olive Hill

Brice Thornbury a great teacher

It was with sadness that we learned of the passing of Brice Thornbury. His mother, Nancy, was a longtime teacher at Ironville Elementary School and obviously a good influence.

Mark Maynard’s article credited Mr. Thornbury for his athletic and coaching achievements. But he was a giant of a man in many more ways.

Brice is considered among the best advanced math teachers in the history of Boyd County High School. Without being at all critical of his peers, it was unusual for a “coach” back in those days to also be considered a serious “teacher.”

In his class, we knew the pop quizzes were coming at us every week. We feared these, but we knew the pressure was his way giving us a taste of life’s lessons and his version of “tough love.”

He could draw complicated problems on a blackboard quicker than an engineering draftsman. In his 1974 geometry class, he breezed through the entire book with three weeks to spare in the school year. We thought it was life on “Easy Street” from there. Little did we know, he then taught us a year’s worth of trigonometry in that final three weeks.

In short, Brice was a stern but fair disciplinarian. We from the BCHS class of 1975 will never forget him.

Paul Amburgey, Ashland

 

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014

Featured Ads
Seasonal Content
AP Video
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
SEC Zone