Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

June 30, 2013

In Your View

ASHLAND — Obama’s proposal will cost jobs, raise rates

Today President Obama announced he will require the EPA to change the current laws on coal-fired electric plants that will put hundreds of thousands of workers out of their jobs, followed in turn by reduced electric supply (brown outs) and greatly increased electric bills.

During President Obama’s 2008 campaign, he promised to “bankrupt” the coal-fired electric companies. (The remainder of this letter I wrote to the editor on Nov. 23, 2009.)

What Obama's supporters are so naive about is that the U.S.A. has already done more than our fair share in reducing emissions. I remember flying along the eastern seaboard, both with Trans World Airlines and as a pilot for the Pennsylvania Air National Guard, how restricted the visibility was.

Gradually, from 1970 to about 1980. the visibility improved on the East Coast to a point it was no longer a factor in Visual Flight Rules (VFW) flying. Smog is now a rarity in Los Angeles.

 Not so in the rest of the world. When you fly over Southeastern China on a cloudless day, you cannot see the ground from 35,000 feet. In Shanghai, I can rarely see the other high-rise buildings one mile away, from my hotel window. India is no better. I have not seen VFR weather in Delhi or Mumbai. Lima, Peru, has far worse smog conditions than LA ever did. In Lima and Mumbai, you can smell the air.

Much to his chagrin, Obama cannot control the rest of the world. He just apologies for the U.S.A. being U.S.A.  There’s no carbon tax on China, India, etc, just tax the USA companies who have already outspent their overseas competitors 1,000 to 1 to improve our air. U.S. companies have no choice but to pass on this tax and only Americans will pay it, not the foreigners, as t.ey will not be buying our overpriced products due to a carbon tax.

                                                                                         William B Secrest, Retired pilot. Argentum

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014