Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

August 31, 2013

Words of Thanks

ASHLAND — On Aug. 24, Safe Harbor celebrated its sixth annual Lobster Fest. I thank Safe Harbor’s Board of Directors, the Boyd County Medical Alliance, Susan Fried and her committee and our staff for a great event. A special thank-you also goes to our sponsors, whose continued support has helped Safe Harbor meet the growing need across the FIVCO Area Development District for domestic violence services.

This fundraiser will help us renovate, update and expand the emergency shelter to give us much-needed additional beds.

Again, thanks to all our supporters.

Ann Perkins, Executive director, Safe Harbor

--

I recently learned that a very important, wise and caring doctor of mine was retiring.

I thank Dr. Richard E. Paulus for his expertise and care he has given me since 1996, and last but not least, for his bedside manner and for the dedication he has shown not only to me but to his other patients. I witnessed this many times during my 13 years as a King’s Daughters Medical Center volunteer. 

It saddens me that the community is losing the dedication of a doctor that I personally believe loved his job and was good at it. Did he make mistakes? Probably. None of us our perfect in this “fleshy body” that entombs the real “us.”

I thank Dr. Paulus for the care he gave  me. My prayer is that he finds as much fulfillment in retirement as he did as a doctor. He will be missed.

D. Faye Stringham, Ashland

--

While waiting in line to have my driver’s license renewed recently, I group of young people in front of me allowed me to go ahead of them. It was a small gesture, but I really appreciated it. It showed me that there are still young people today who are polite, courteous and sensitive to the needs of others. I do not know who those young people were but I thank them for their kindness.

Etta Swinney, Ashland

Text Only
Opinion
  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO region with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Dismal numbers

    The good news is that the health ratings of all but two area counties improved in the latest ranking of the state’s 120 counties. However, before we pat ourselves on the back for those improvements, the overall health of residents of counties in northeast Kentucky remains rather dismal. Yes, we are improving but we still have a long, long way to go.

    April 2, 2014