Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Opinion

February 23, 2012

In Your View

ASHLAND — Blame Obama for missed SSI raises

This is for seniors who read this newspaper.

I suppose they know by now that for two years — 2010 and 2011 — the cost-of-living raises on our Social Security were taken from us by our president without a good reason.

It is time to send a message in the next election. While we received a raise this January, if  Barack Obama gets re-elected again, he will take our cost-of-living increase again come January 2013.

We worked 30-to-40 years to receive Social Security benefits. The president had no right to take them away. It is like he is stealing our money while he is spending money like it grows on those trees in Washington, D.C.

Marie Schmick, Morehead

Carrier’s actions save barn, horses

Rodney Opell, our local newpaper carrier, delivers our paper around 4 a.m. when most of us are sound asleep.

While delivering our paper on Tuesday, Feb. 14, Rodney saw that our barn was on fire. The barn sits off the road and behind our house and had three horses in it.

Rodney was able to get the horses out and put them in a safe place, saving their lives. He then proceeded to get the water hose. It was frozen but he beat the ice out of it to keep the fire under control. After all was secure and the firetrucks has arrived, Rodney pounded on our windows to wake us.

We can never thank Rodney enough for his bravery for rescuing the horses. Not only were the horses rescued because of this act of bravery and kindness plus having the knowledge to remove the horses from the barn, this possibly kept the fire spreading from our home and the neighbor’s home.

At a time when there are home invasions, thefts and many other acts that are against mankind, this young man acted upon a situation that many would ignore. We thank Rodney Opell for his unselfish actions.

Lee Allen and Mary Ellen May, Catlettsburg

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Good opportunity

    Morehead State University is using a highly successful program for outstanding high school juniors and seniors at Western Kentucky University to launch a similar program beginning this fall on the MSU campus.

    April 20, 2014

  • What's next?

    While virtually all cities in northeastern Kentucky provide their residents with some utility services — water and sewer, mainly, and sometimes natural gas — to the best of our knowledge, Olive Hill is the only town in the FIVCO‚Äąregion with its own electrical company.
     

    April 13, 2014

  • 'Waited too long'

    Lt. Garlin Murl Conner left the U.S. Army as the second-most decorated soldier during World War II, earning four Silver Stars, four Bronze Stars, seven Purple Hearts and the Distinguished Service Cross for his actions during 28 straight months in combat.

    April 12, 2014

  • Enact HB 3

    The National Rx Drug Abuse Summit is under way hundreds of miles from eastern Kentucky in Orlando, Fla., but the three-day conference which runs through Thursday, was organized by Operation UNITE, the eastern Kentucky anti-drug group that knows all too well the devastating impact the prescription drug epidemic continues to have on this region.

    April 11, 2014

  • State officials cease efforts to stop advance of ash borer

    Kentucky’s war against the tiny emerald ash borer responsible for already killing more than 25 million ash trees in the eastern United States has ended in surrender — by state officials, not the tiny insect.

    April 8, 2014

  • Demise of apparel industry in Kentucky continues

    The steady demise of the once thriving clothing industry in small Kentucky towns continues with the latest factory to announce it is shutting down being one of the largest: Fruit of the Loom has announced it is closing its last remaining plant in Jamestown, a move that eventually will see the elimination of more than 600 jobs in the small town near Lake Cumberland.

    April 7, 2014

  • None on ballot

    The 2014 Kentucky General Assembly considered an unusually high number of proposed amendments to the Kentucky Constitution on such issues as casino gambling, the restoration of voting rights for convicted felons and the elimination of state and local elected offices.

    April 4, 2014

  • In Your View

    Letters to the editor

    April 3, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014

  • Time runs out

    Two bills proposed by House Majority Leader Rocky Adkins and designed to boost the economy of this region have apparently died in the Kentucky Senate after being approved by the House of Representatives. Despite easily being approved by the Democratic-controlled House, neither bill was even brought up for a vote by the Republican-controlled Senate.

    April 2, 2014