Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

March 10, 2014

EKC hands out hardware

Fleming's Steward, Lewis' Frye get top honors

Aaron Snyder
The Independent

OLIVE HILL — The Eastern Kentucky Conference handed out its 2014 awards on Monday afternoon at a luncheon at Carter Caves.

East Carter’s girls racked up plenty of hardware after assembling a school-record 31-win season. The Lady Raiders climbed to as high as a No. 6 state ranking.

Defending boys 16th Region champion Fleming County garnered top honors, netting both Player and Co-Coach of the Year awards. The Panthers played in this year’s region semifinals against Lewis County on Monday night.

Lewis County’s Emily Frye was named EKC Player of the Year. The junior averaged 15 points, six assists and five rebounds a game this season in helping guide the Lady Lions to a 63rd District championship. She poured in 41 points to go with eight boards and seven dimes in a game against Conner in January.

Other girls award-winners: East Carter’s Kristin Mayo (offensive player of the year), East Carter’s Bryana Greenhill (defensive player of the year), East Carter’s Hager Easterling (coach of the year) and Rowan County’s Kara Lewis (Hop Brown Courage award).

Randy Taylor was named girls’ Official of the Year.

Fleming County senior Troy Steward put forth a phenomenal final campaign as he helped pace the Panthers, who were largely without star point guard Darion Burns this season. The 6-foot-3 small forward piled up several 30-point games, with his career-high 41 coming against Boyd County on Jan. 30. He was 14 of 17 from the floor in that contest.

Steward scored 23.1 points a game while shooting 50 percent from the field. He also pulled down seven rebounds a contest.

Panthers coach Mark Starns was chosen Co-Coach of the Year, sharing honors with East Carter’s Brandon Baker.

Other EKC boys award-winners: Lewis County’s Brett Ruckel (offensive player of the year), Rowan County’s Justin Graham (defensive player of the year) and Rowan County’s Tyler Thacker (Hop Brown Courage award).

Bobby Hall was selected the boys’ Official of the Year.

East Carter’s girls were crowned conference champions. Lewis County is the girls runner-up.

Fleming County’s boys earned a conference title. Rowan County came in second place.

First-Team Girls All-EKC: Megan Stickler (East Carter), Haley Hall (East Carter), Kelsey Stumbo (East Carter), Martina Lytle (Fleming County), Cristi Petersen (Fleming County), Journey Steward (Fleming County), Savannah Anderson (Lewis County), Jaycey Fite (Lewis County), McKenzie Thompson (Lewis County), Cheyenna Ferguson (Morgan County), Abby Ross (Morgan County), Faith Conn (Rowan County), Candace Justice (Rowan County), Sarah Purdy (Rowan County), Lexi Berry (Russell), Shelby Huddleston (Russell), Maggie Jachimczuk (Russell), Lexie Berry (West Carter), Morgan County (West Carter).

First-Team Boys All-EKC: Cole Brammer (East Carter), Qua Davis (East Carter), Cameron Sparks (East Carter), Austin Crisp (Fleming County), Brady Saunders (Fleming County), Bryson McKee (Fleming County), Trenton Walker (Lewis County), Sammy Holder (Lewis County), Zach Tackett (Russell), Jordan Perry (Morgan County), Jarred Burton (Morgan County), Mikie Whisman (Morgan County), Tyler Thacker (Rowan County), Ryne Callahan (Rowan County), Larry Whelan (Rowan County), Dalton Spurlock (West Carter), Jacob Layne (West Carter), Ben Jordan (West Carter).