Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

March 12, 2013

Russell reels in EKC awards

Red Devils produce top player, coach; East girls do the same

Aaron Snyder
The Independent

OLIVE HILL — Of the five possible individual Eastern Kentucky Conference Awards, Russell’s boys nabbed each one of them.

The honors were given on Monday afternoon during the annual awards banquet at Carter Caves State Park. Awards were determined based on coaches’ votes.

By defeating Fleming County the second time around, Russell avenged the EKC Tournament title game loss to the Panthers and earned the conference regular-season title.

Individually, Red Devils senior Kyle Skaggs was named EKC Player of the Year and Offensive Player of the Year. He averaged more than 25 points per game and became the school’s all-time leading scorer with 2,612 career points.

Russell’s Merle Kidwell was selected as Coach of the Year after guiding the Red Devils to 26-8 season that included both a 16th Region All “A” championship and a 63rd District title.

Other Red Devils recognized were Jacob Porter, who was labeled Defensive Player of the Year, and Lance Evans (Terrence Smith Courage Award).

Fleming County, which represented the 16th Region in the Sweet Sixteen, was the EKC runner-up.

East Carter took the girls’ EKC regular-season and tournament titles. Lewis County was runner-up.

Lady Raiders point guard Kristen Mayo, an eighth-grader, earned Player of the Year while East Carter’s Hager Easterling achieved Coach of the Year. The 62nd District champions Lady Raiders went 24-8 before falling to Lewis County in the first round of the 16th Region Tournament.

Savannah Anderson (Lewis County) was Offensive Player of the Year in the conference. Bryana Greenhill (East Carter) was selected as Defensive Player of the Year.

The Hop Brown Courage Award went to Anderson.

The EKC also names an Official of the Year, which went to Davin Barnett. Barnett represented the 16th Region in the Boys Sweet Sixteen.


Russell — Kyle Skaggs, Jacob Porter, Lance Evans, Googie Hayes; Fleming County — Darion Burns, Troy Steward, Austin Crisp; Rowan County — Tyler Thacker, Matt Brown, Jalen Stone; East Carter — Quinn Huddle, Kyle Stewart; Morgan County — Jordan Perry, Jordan Whitt; West Carter — Kyle Brown, Dustin Black; Lewis County — Brett Ruckel.


East Carter — Kristen Mayo, Bryana Greenhill, Kelsey Stumbo, Megan Stickler, Kerie Steele; Lewis County — Savannah Anderson, Taylor Frye, Emily Frye; Fleming County — Tierra Taylor, Martina Lytle, Rachel Boyd; Rowan County — Faith Conn, Taylor Conn, Candace Justice; West Carter — Lexie Berry, Brooke Callihan; Russell — Arden Gross, Hope Parsley; Morgan County — Cheyenna Ferguson.