Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

March 13, 2014

Goodpaster elected chairman for MSU regents board

Staff report
The Independent

MOREHEAD — Morehead State University’s Board of Regents elected officers, received a spotlight from Acting Provost Gerald DeMoss and the president’s report during its quarterly meeting on Thursday.

Paul Goodpaster of Morehead was elected as Board of Regents chairman. He succeeds John Merchant, who served four years as chairman.

“It is a tremendous honor to work with this board,” said Goodpaster. “John did such a great job in his four years. There are a lot of great things going on at this university right now.”

With 27 years of banking experience, Goodpaster is executive vice president and chief operating officer of the Citizens Bank in Morehead. He is responsible for the day-to-day management of the bank. He is a former chief financial officer for Rowan Technical College, now the Rowan Campus of Maysville Community and Technical College.

Goodpaster is a current member of the Morehead/Rowan County Industrial Development Authority and a past board member of the Morehead/Rowan County Economic Development Authority. He is past president of the Morehead-Rowan County Chamber of Commerce.

A Morehead State graduate, Goodpaster earned a bachelor of business administration degree with an emphasis in finance in 1989. He is in his second term as a member of the Board of Regents. His term will expire in 2018.

The board elected Wayne Martin of Winchester, as vice chairman. He graduated with honors from MSU with a bachelor of arts in business degree in 1968, a master of arts in education degree and Rank I Administrative Certification. Martin is a retired television executive.

Carol Johnson, assistant to the president, was re-elected board secretary while Beth Patrick, chief financial officer and vice president for administration, was appointed treasurer.

DeMoss offered the spotlight as he highlighted MSU’s Academic Affairs.

In his report, Andrews spoke on the University’s activities since the last meeting.

The board approved tenure with promotion to associate professors to: Dr. Jody Fernandez, assistant professor of education (MGSE); Dr. Sarah Hawkins-Lear, assistant professor of education (ECES); Dr. Nilesh N. Joshi, assistant professor of applied engineering and technology; Dr. Lee Nabb, assistant professor of adult and higher education (FGSE); Dr. Kelly Collinsworth, assistant professor of legal studies; Natasha Davis, assistant professor of dance; Dr. Itza Zavala-Garrett, assistant professor of Spanish; Dr. Sanjeev Adhikari, assistant professor of applied engineering and technology; Dr. David Butz, assistant professor of psychology; and Dr. R. Duane Skaggs, assistant professor of mathematics.

The Regents also granted sabbatical leave to Dr. Thomas Pannuti, associate professor of astrophysics and space science, 2014-15 academic year; Dr. Kristina DuRocher, associate professor of history, Spring 2015 semester; and Dr. Chien-Chih Peng, associate professor of finance, Spring 2015 semester.

The members heard reports on preliminary spring enrollment and personal service contracts.

The group approved a master of science in space systems engineering (MSSE) degree;  campus master plan, personnel actions; contracts for banking service; second quarter financial report and amended the operating budget; disposal of real property and reimbursement resolution.

The next quarterly meeting is scheduled for June 5.