Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

Local News

March 1, 2012

Elementary district Governor's Cup results

ASHLAND — District 112    


1. Hunter West (Worthington)

2. Rylee Austin (Worthington)

3. Griffin Keeton (Greysbranch)

4. Braeden Sparks (Greysbranch)

5. Jonathan Coleman (McKell)

Social studies

1. Brady Justice (Worthington)

2. Logan Robinson (Greysbranch)

3. Harley Dixon (McKell)

4. Jacob Crum (Argillite)

5. Eric Moore (Greysbranch)


1. Brecken Thomas (Greysbranch)

2. Brady Stone (Argillite)

3. Polly Dalton (Wurtland)

4. Tomoro Harris (Argillite)

5. Connor French (McKell)

Language arts

1. Baille Riffe (Worthington)

2. Drew Preston (Worthington)

3. Abby Cox (Greysbranch)

4. Emily Elkins (Wurtland)

4. Andrew Brown (Greysbranch)

4. Landon Mauk (Worthington)


1. Sydney Brewer (Wurtland)

2. Lauren Gearheart (Worthington)

3. Gracie Haywood (Greysbranch)

4. Ashleigh May (Worthington)

5. Emily Hunt (Greysbranch)

Arts and humanities

1. Baille Riffe (Worthington)

2. Emilee Garvin (Worthington)

3. Sophia Shoemaker (Greysbranch)

4. Gracie Haywood (Greysbranch)

5. Timothy Wright (Wurtland)

Future Problem Solving Team     

1. Argillite Elementary

2. Worthington Elementary

3. Greysbranch Elementary

4. McKell Elementary


1.Worthington 52

2.Greysbranch 36

3.Argillite 16

4.Wurtland 13

5.McKell 7             

Quick recall

1. Worthington Elementary

2. Greysbranch Elementary

3. Wurtland Elementary

4. McKell Elementary

Hume Sportsmanship

Argillite Elementary

District 113


1. Paul Henderson (Russell McDowell)

2. Carmen Hsieh (Russell McDowell)

3. Shaina Ward (Fairview)

4. Chloe DeGiorgio (Holy Family)

5. Nolan Sabotchick (Holy Family)

Social studies

1. Ethan Volk (Holy Family)

2. Jackson Whitlock (Fairview)

3. Josh Griffith (Russell McDowell)

4. Jonathan Duty (Fairview)

5. Olivia Martin (Russell McDowell)


1. Ethan Volk (Holy Family)

2. Claire Gussler (Holy Family)

3. Jake Horne (Russell McDowell)

4. Jackson Whitlock (Fairview)

5. Braden Pack (Russell McDowell)

5. Barrett Blevins (Russell McDowell)

Language arts

1. Claire Gussler (Holy Family)

2. Carmen Hsieh (Russ. McDow)

3. Payton Scott (Crabbe)

4. Cadence Stephens (Crabbe)

5. Ian Shumate (Holy Family)


1. Madison Leep (Fairview)

2. Laura Nestor (Russell McDowell)

3. Bella-luna Kesling (Crabbe)

4. Georgia Arrington (Holy Family)

5. Olivia Martin (Russell McDowell)

Arts and humanities

1. Hannah Greenhill (Russell McDowell)

2. Spencer Wills (Crabbe)

3. Ryan Sargent (Fairview)

4. Kierra Oney (Fairview)

5. Sydney Wright (Holy Family)

Future Problem Solving Team     

1. Russell McDowell Intermediate

2. Crabbe Elementary

3. Fairview Elementary


1.Russell McDowell 44

2.Holy Family 34

3.Fairview 27

4.Crabbe 18

Quick recall

1. Holy Family School (Boyd)

2. Russell McDowell Intermediate

3. Fairview Elementary

4. Crabbe Elementary

Hume Sportsmanship

Holy Family School (Boyd)

District 114


1. Robbie Francis (Charles Russell)

2. Julie Clere (Oakview)

3. Shalayna Rice (Charles Russell)

4. Spencer Johnson (Hager)

5. Spencer Lett (Oakview)

Social studies

1. Zach Greene (Charles Russell)

2. Shelby Foutch (Hager)

3. Kylie Rhoton (Hager)

4. Andrea Conley (Oakview)

4. Julie Clere (Oakview)


1. Spencer Johnson (Hager)

2. Will Spade (Hager)

3. Shalayna Rice (Charles Russell)

4. Robbie Francis (Charles Russell)

5. Brianna Lambert (Charles Russell)

Language arts

1. Spencer Lett (Oakview)

2. Maddy Greene (Charles Russell)

3. Kaitlyn Lee (Charles Russell)

3. Brianna Lambert (Charles Russell)

5. Justin Lucas (Oakview)

5. Kyle McComis (Hager)


1. Olivia Allen (Charles Russell)

2. Emma Spade (Hager)

3. Mykayla Akers (Oakview)

4. Megan Redman (Hager)

5. Chloe VanHorn (Charles Russell)

Arts and humanities

1. Olivia Short (Poage)

2. Olivia Allen (Charles Russell)

3. Courtney Jones (Poage)

4. Emily Potter (Hager)

5. Ashley Hudson (Oakview)

Future Problem Solving Team

1. Charles Russell Elementary

2. Oakview Elementary

3. Hager Elementary

4. Poage Elementary


Charles Russell 54

Hager 30.5

Oakview 27.5

Poage 12

Catlettsburg 0

Quick recall

1. Charles Russell Elementary

2. Oakview Elementary

3. Poage Elementary

4. Hager Elementary

Hume Sportsmanship

Catlettsburg Elementary

District 115


1. Greydon McCall (Summit)

2. Ryan Griffith (Ponderosa)

3. Hannah Perry (Ponderosa)

4. Maggie Woods (Summit)

5. Drew Bartram (Cannonsburg)

5. Matthew Stubblefield (Cannonsburg)

Social studies

1. Ryan Trogdon (Ponderosa)

2. T.R. Nolen (Cannonsburg)

3. Nathan Ashworth (Rose Hill)

4. Kennedy Jones (Ponderosa)

5. Devon Yates (Summit)


1. Nathan Ashworth (Rose Hill)

2. Justin Lawrence (Cannonsburg)

3. Noah Phillips (Cannonsburg)

4. Clay Woods (Rose Hill)

4. Jasmine Parsons (Ponderosa)

Language arts

1. Shelby Willis (Summit)

2. Abrial Cobern (Cannonsburg)

2. Tiffany Crews (Ponderosa)

4. Grace Stubblefield (Cannonsburg)

4. Luke Ellis (Summit)


1. Shelby Willis (Summit)

2. Tiffany Crews (Ponderosa)

3. Abrial Cobern (Cannonsburg)

4. April Stinson (Cannonsburg)

5. Maggie Kinnel (Summit)

Arts and humanities

1. Katlynn Shumway (Rose Hill)

2. Grace Miller (Summit)

3. Brett Woods (Rose Hill)

4. Chris Ringrose (Summit)

5. Abrial Cobern (Cannonsburg)

Future Problem Solving Team     

1. Ponderosa Elementary

2. Summit Elementary

3. Cannonsburg Elementary


1.Summit Elementary 39.5

2.Ponderosa Elementary 36

3.Cannonsburg Elementary 29

4.Rose Hill Christian 18.5

Quick recall

1. Summit Elementary

2. Ponderosa Elementary

3. Cannonsburg Elementary

4. Rose Hill Christian School

Hume Sportsmanship

Rose Hill Christian School

Text Only
Local News
  • Raising the roof

    Leaks will soon be a thing of the past at Star Elementary School, where workers are busy putting up a new roof.

    April 18, 2014

  • Fire at Russell care facility

    A care facility for the elderly in Russell was temporarily evacuated following a fire in the kitchen Wednesday night.

    April 18, 2014

  • Incumbent, newcomer vie for PVA position

    A longtime office-holder is facing a rare primary challenge in the Greenup County property valuation administrator race.

    April 18, 2014

  • Local briefs: 4/18/14

    Inspections and roadway patching on Ky. 773’s twin bridges in Carter County will require daytime closures Wednesday and Thursday.

    April 17, 2014

  • Corps issues safety advice to boaters

    The U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, Huntington District, reminds boaters the areas immediately upstream and downstream of navigation dams on the Ohio and Kanawha rivers have been designated as restricted areas. 

    April 17, 2014

  • Police beat: 4/18/14

    The following information was taken from Ashland Police Department reports:

    April 17, 2014

  • Lana Bellamy: Waking up America's youth: 4/18/14

    I once read a quote by a man saying the reason today’s youth do not have the same “spunk” as youth in the past is because they do not have inspiration.

    April 17, 2014

  • 0418eggs1web.jpg Learning about life one egg at a time

    Something is hatching — or is at least about to hatch — in classrooms in Lawrence County.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Harmonica enthusiasts will get schooled

    From overblows and bends to vibrato and position playing, harmonica players will have an intense course study April 25 and 26 during HarmoniCollege 3.

    April 17, 2014

  • jeremymccombs.jpg Jeremy McComb enjoys Tri-State's limelight

    Jeremy McComb’s career has been a wild ride, especialy in the last week.
    The lead single from his latest album was released on iTunes last week and it was a huge success right from the start.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo