Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)

November 4, 2012

Races in Bellefonte, Wurtland uncontested

Staff report
The Independent

ASHLAND — Each of Greenup County’s eight cities has an election on Tuesday.

Two of them - Bellefonte and Wurtland - have slates of incumbent candidates running unopposed for their four member city commission.

Bellefonte City Commission candidates include: Maurice J. Oakley, Wm. H. “Skip” Edwards II, John H. Wallace, and William “Bill” Snedegar.

Wurtland City Commission candidates include: Connie Crum, Cindy Bays, Tony J. Smith, and Jackie N. Ball-Gambill.

Greenup, Russell, South Shore, and Flatwoods have contested races that have already been profiled in The Independent but Worthington and Raceland have active races with a host of candidates too.

The Raceland City Council has the largest slate of candidates seeking election. Eleven candidates are seeking seats on the six member council including every incumbent. They are: Matt Abrams, Annette “Ann” Catlin, Eddie Cumpton, Charles L. Powell III, Stephanie Ramsdell and Michael Wilson.

Challengers are: Talmadge McPeek Jr., Joyce Potter, Vernin L. Adkins, John R. Rowe, and Jack Taylor.

Worthington City Council has seven candidates seeking election to its six member council. Incumbents seeking re-election include: Mike Phelphs, Glenn Stephenson, Jason Flocker, James Cumpton and Forrest “Frosty” A Evans. Evans was appointed to an open seat on the council earlier this year and is seeking his first two-year elected term. Challenging candidates include: Brad McGinnis and Timothy Mullins.