Daily Independent (Ashland, KY)


June 29, 2014

Reception today for Allied Artists' 69th juried exhibit

HUNTINGTON — West Virginia’s oldest artists’ organization, Allied Artists of West Virginia, and the Huntington Museum of Art, the state’s largest fine art museum, teamed up to present AAWV’s 69th Juried Exhibit from West Virginia artists in all media.

Allied Artists of West Virginia 69th Juried Exhibit’s awards ceremony and reception will be from 1 to 3 p.m. today at the museum.

The exhibit competition was open to all West Virginia artists; 34 West Virginia cities and towns are represented.

This year, artists from various parts of West Virginia submitted 178 artworks. An independent juror selected 59 art works by 51 artists for the Exhibit.

West Virginia artists selected by the juror for the Exhibit are: Brianna Allen, Kevin Carl Bennington, Laurie Cameron, Cheryl Canterbury, Patricia Chapman, Myuki Akai Cook, Pat Cross, Tessa Garver-Daniels, Charly Hamilton, Sharon Harms, Cheryl Ryan Harshman, Elisabeth Hartman, Paul Hartman, Deborah D. Herndon, Vernon F. Howell, Brian Humphreys, Barrie Kaufman, Sophia Kayafas, Brett Kern, Sandra King, Ray Kleycamp, Joseph Lupo, Ric MacDowell, Michael Mendez, Lorin Michki, Jan Millard, Mark Tobin Moore, Asuka Ng, Tommy Ogle, Steve Opet, Janet Parker, Jamie Powers, Emily Prentice, Brian Reed, Lauri Lydy Reidmiller, Henry William Riffe II, Pat Roberts, Gregory Sava, Verena Sava, Ellie Schaul, Randy Selbe, Maggie Sherry, Connie Stover, Michael Teel, Wayne L. Vickers, Barbara Walker, April Waltz, Tommy Warf, Jerre Watkins, Cathy Wilkin, Barbara Marsh Wilson.

The juror selected 10 artists’ work for a total of $5,250 in cash awards:

‰Best of Show — $1,000 for “Astronaut” by Brett Kern.

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Generation Z” by Myuki Akai Cook.   

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Untitled 13” by Rey Kleycamp.   

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Iron Man” by Joseph Lupo.

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Bear” by Michael Mendez.

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Five Apples & a Green Elephant” by Janet Parker.

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Cross Tie Kingdom” by Brian Reed.

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Rattle Series” by Barbara Walker.

‰Award of Excellence — $500 for “Spirit Fish” by Cathy Wilkin.

‰Marion S. Lehman Memorial Award — $ 250 for “Don’t Stop Noticing Me” by Tessa Garver-Daniels.

Juror Benjy Davies of southern Ohio received a bachelor of fine arts degree in 1995 and a master of fine arts degree in 2000 from Ohio State University. His work has been included in more than 150 exhibitions. His work is represented in national and international collections, including the Amity Art Foundation, Ohio State University and Vaasa, Finland. He teaches graphic design and printmaking at the University of Rio Grande and operates Lucky Man Press in Gallipolis.


Text Only